Fund managers: One for the team

Fund managers who were recognised in this year’s inaugural Good Returns Fund Manager of the Year awards have welcomed the recognition.

Wednesday, December 4th 2019, 6:31AM

Fisher Funds Management - Fund Manager of the Year

Fisher Funds took the top prize, the award for the Australasian fixed interest sector and the adviser choice gong for equities.

KiwiSaver of the Year went to Generate.

The awards were powered by Research IP and were based on one-year returns and a number of other factors to ensure the winners and funds shortlisted in each category were not “one-hit wonders”.

Bruce McLachlan, chief executive of Fisher Funds, said he was delighted the team was recognised.

“We believe we have got a fantastic team here. The team is really strong. The value of Fisher Funds is inextricably linked to the quality of the talent and the investment style.”

He said Fisher Funds’ investment team was not trying to win awards “but trying to be the best”. “I’m really happy for the team.”

He said he was also pleased to receive the adviser award because it was not a segment of the market that Fisher Funds had made a play for.

“The fact that advisers wouldn’t be dealing with us, it’s a true independent assessment … I’m delighted with that one.”

Henry Tongue, chief executive of Generate, said the KiwiSaver award meant a lot to the firm.

“It recognises the hard work put in every day by both our team and our third-party advisers to try to be the very best KiwiSaver provider. We'll never rest on our laurels but it is nice to be able to take a step back and appreciate what we’ve managed to achieve for our members."

He said it was good for members to see Generate recognised because it validated their decision.

"It was nice to win one for the active team in the KiwiSaver category."

Tags: Fund manager of the year

« JMI: Advice businesses riding wave[The Wrap] Advice is more than just fees; Celebrating the best »

Special Offers

Comments from our readers

No comments yet

Sign In to add your comment

© Copyright 1997-2020 Tarawera Publishing Ltd. All Rights Reserved